Author Topic: "The Hemingway Papers" DVD Feedback Thread  (Read 3313 times)

GATSU

• Part of the Gang
"The Hemingway Papers" DVD Feedback Thread
« on: June 15, 2014, 02:10:26 am »
Just decided it needed a placeholder. I haven't seen it through yet, and this is my first time seeing the special at all, but I'm appreciating the release, at least.

Edit: Ok, this one's a very unusual Lupin special. The principal characters barely have anything to do with the main story, and the pacing is incredibly relaxed by the standards of the franchise. In some ways, it makes First Contact look like it's got non-stop balls-to-the-wall action. It's got its moments, but you have to sit through a lot of conversations explaining character motivations and story settings to get to the pay-offs. I guess, in some ways, it can be considered a foreshadowing of today's shonen manga and movies. So I would say this special is better suited to people who didn't mind the slower episodes of Master Keaton. I wouldn't say it's terrible, but you have to have a different approach to Hemingway Papers than you would most Lupin spin-offs. You have to have the mindset of reading a novel, rather than, say, going through a flip book. Which I guess might be the point, given the MacGuffin of the story.

I have yet to get to the commentary, though.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2014, 11:40:42 pm by Reed »

Akai Shuichi

• Shottogun
  • Part of the Gang
Re: 'Hemingway Papers' DVD feedback thread (Updated)
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2014, 07:44:10 am »
Can you provide any screenshots?

GATSU

• Part of the Gang
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2014, 08:18:32 am »
Not my specialty.

MGFanJay

• Part of the Gang
  • Oh yeah...
    • Hardocre Gamer Magzine - free download
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2014, 07:05:51 am »